Session 10 – Curriculum Design

As the new National Curriculum (2014) was published, I believe that many teachers find the aspect of computing quite daunting because I am sure a great number of teachers have not been as fortunate as I have to have had efficient training in this area. There is a variety of fun and interesting ways the new computing curriculum can be taught to pupils whilst using a wide range of technology. Berry (2013) suggests that teachers should use practical and creative approaches to the computing curriculum and allow pupils the opportunity to work individually, in pairs, or as part of a small group. I agree with this as I believe that pupils should be taught computing in practical lessons and it is not difficult or time consuming to do this with the amount of technology available at the moment! For example Bee-Bot floor robots and lego robotics are fun, practical ways of teaching computing, and software such as Scratch and Kodu are also engaging ways to teach this subject.

On placement, the only computing lessons I saw being taught, and which I followed were lessons on Espresso coding. Although this is effective in getting the learning objectives of computing across to children and enabling them to learn about coding, I believe there are many more enjoyable ways to teach this to children. I am not saying I would not use Espresso coding in school with my own class, but in the future, I would most probably like to introduce them to Scratch and allow children to create their own animation or game with a partner once they have learnt how to code on Espresso coding. Scratch has been viewed as an excellent way to teach children how to design, write, run, and debug code (Cambridge, 2012).

Leave a Reply

