Session 13 – Professional Development

Today was the day I presented my ICT seminar to my group. I had a lot of fun doing this and I feel as though my points about LearnPads came across to the students who may even consider investing in them in their schools in the future! At the beginning of this session we thought about and discussed where we would like to see ourselves professionally in 1 year, 5 years, 10 years, and 20 years. I found this very difficult to think of as I am the type of person who lives life as it comes and generally doesn’t like to have a plan for the future (whether this is a good or a bad thing, I don’t know!). I wrote that in 1 year I would like to be fully qualified, in 5 years I would like to be an ICT coordinator in my second school, and for 10 and 20 years I didn’t write anything! However it was interesting to hear what everybody else’s plans were for the future and it was even more interesting to hear about how Miles has got to where he is now! This session was about professional development. Whilst reading Becta (2010) I found a checklist which I think would be really useful to give to teachers in my school so they can identify how they are currently using technology in school and what more they can do with technology to benefit pupils and also themselves. More information about reviewing the checklist can also be found on this website: http://schools.becta.org.uk/21cteacher

I agree with Gove (2010) (for once!), as he states that ‘teaching is a craft, and it is best learnt as an apprentice, observing a master craftsman or woman, watching others and being rigorously observed yourself as you develop, is the best route to acquiring mastery in the classroom’. The reasons I agree with this statement is because I, myself feel as though I have learnt most of the things about teaching whilst being on placement, watching the class teachers and receiving feedback about my own practice which I use to learn from and improve. One of the school’s I went to visit whilst I was looking for jobs was a newly built building with fantastic facilities. One of the things that stood out most for me in that school was the fact that there were cameras in some of the classrooms. The headteacher notified me that these cameras were to be used strictly for ‘professional development’, whereby teachers can choose to be either observed by a human being or have their lesson recorded by a video camera and a microphone. This is an interesting method of promoting professional development as it allows the teacher to look back on the lesson he/she has taught and see what went well and what could have been improved. I do think that is a good idea to implement in schools however I feel as though it would take a bit of time getting used to!

http://www.teachhub.com/technique-self-reflection-video-recording

This website discusses how teachers can video record themselves in a classroom for professional development and highlight what to look for specifically when watching yourself back. I think this is useful if this is something which your school doesn’t already do; you can get teachers on board with this or just ask for permission to do it yourself for your own professional development. I definitely think I may implement this when I start my job as a class teacher to improve my teaching!

Leave a Reply

